BTCC Snetterton – Jackson wins frenetic final race

Ollie Jackson won his second race of the season in the third and final race at Snetterton.

Jackson pulled off an amazing first lap move and took the win from Adam Morgan and Colin Turkington profited from Ingram and Butcher colliding on the final corner on the final lap to take third.

Morgan had an incredible start as he flew into the lead. However he wasn’t in front for long as Ollie Jackson pulled off an incredible move around the outside to take the lead. There was slight drama as Josh Cook and Dan Cammish collided, neither seemed to lose out too much. Cook’s Honda suffered significant damage to the left front but was still running.

Lap two saw Sam Osborne retire in dramatic fashion as he went off onto the grass. His Honda Civic hit a dip and his splitter dug in and ripped the front of the car off.

Jackson’s team mate Rory Butcher was trying to take second from Morgan as it all sparked into action on lap five as Sutton dove down the inside of Chris Smiley, he couldn’t make the move stick and it opened the door to Tom Ingram, who snuck up the inside to take fourth.

There was a group of ten cars all fighting close and swapping positions. Turkington profited most from this battle as he managed to get to the front of the pack and take fifth place. Smiley the loser as he was hit by Cammish and spun off.

The trio up front were all racing close and charging hard. Jackson was soaking up plenty of pressure from Morgan while Butcher hung on his coattails.

Ingram caught up to the leading pack, trying to get onto the podium to keep his slim title hopes alive. He went to pass Butcher and looked to have had it done, but Butcher couldn’t stop as he was put onto the grass, and hit Ingram.

Pos Driver Car Interval
1 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST
2 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +0.217
3 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport +4.472
4 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 +6.312
5 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +8.195
6 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 +9.194
7 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +9.782
8 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla +9.934
9 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +13.758
10 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +14.167
11 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +16.544
12 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport +17.561
13 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +20.891
14 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 +21.443
15 Glyn Geddie VW CC +28.737
16 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +29.716
17 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +30.859
18 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +34.649
19 Jack Goff VW CC +35.046
20 Jessica Hawkins Vauxhall Astra +40.032
21 Paul Rivett Audi S3 Saloon +40.322
22 Ethan Hammerton Audi S3 Saloon +44.761
23 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +47.177
24 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +50.883
RET Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Mechanical
RET Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 Crash

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline