BTCC Brands Hatch – Ash Sutton crowned 2021 champion as Josh Cook dominates race two

Josh Cook won in race two at Brands Hatch in the BTCC but it was Ash Sutton who stole the headlines as he sealed his third BTCC title.

The Infiniti driver finished sixth meaning he had enough of a gap over Colin Turkington to seal his second successive title win.

There was chaos on the opening lap when Senna Proctor went off at the Druids hairpin. Further into the lap Ollie Jackson was spun around, and collected Tom Oliphant and Adam Morgan too. Inevitably the Safety Car was deployed.

On the restart Cook pulled away under some initial pressure from Dan Lloyd. On lap seven Rory Butcher was nudged onto the grass going into Druids in a tussle with Aiden Moffat. Moffat collected damage and spun going into Graham Hill bend.

Sutton was doing what he needed to seal the win but another Safety Car was deployed on lap 13 when Nicholas Hamilton went off into the gravel trap.

There was little action following the restart and Cook cruised to his fifth win of the season from Lloyd and Gordon Shedden who rounded off the podium.

Turkington was fourth with Dan Rowbottom fifth, Sutton finished sixth and was overcome with emotion on the slow down lap as it sunk in that he’d won his third title, the youngest driver to ever do so.

Butcher, Stephen Jelley, Jake Hill and Jack Goff rounded out the top ten,

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing 30:55:544
2 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +0.587
3 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +1.432
4 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +1.745
5 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +2.352
6 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +3.169
7 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +4.073
8 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +4.333
9 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +4.805
10 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +5.706
11 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +6.809
12 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +6.924
13 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +7.358
14 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +7.903
15 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +8.533
16 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +11.243
17 Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD +12.094
18 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +12.246
19 Andy Wilmot Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +15.083
20 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +59.263
21 Rick Parfitt Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1 Lap
22 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +1 Lap
DNF Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD Spin
DNF Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 Damage
DNF Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Motorbase Damage
DNF Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR Crash
DNF Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley Crash
DNF Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport Crash
DNF Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing Crash
Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline