BTCC Knockhill – Turkington takes 100th WSR win and reignites title challenge

Colin Turkington cruised to victory to reignite his title challenge, and also took Team WSR’s 100th BTCC win.

The BMW driver led from lights to flag with BTC Racing duo Senna Proctor and Josh Cook both on the podium.

Turkington led off the grid after a good start. By the end of lap three he was 2.5 seconds ahead of Proctor, who had to hold off a train of cars led by Chris Smiley.

On lap four Dan Lloyd went off at the exit of the chicane and hit the wall. This brought out the safety car while his stricken Vauxhall Astra was recovered and the wall fixed.

Lap 11 saw the race resume and Turkington again pulled away, opening up a three second lead easily. Proctor managed to pull away from Smiley too as he cruised to a second placed finish.

His team mate Cook was on the rear bumper of Smiley, looking for an opportunity to overtake. He finally managed it with a bold move down the inside of Clark corner. Reigning champion Ash Sutton then dove down the inside of Smiley at the hairpin to take fourth.

Coming out of the hairpin Tom Oliphant was spun off and retired from the race, with Ollie Jackson also having his own issues, going wide at the hairpin and coming into the pits, never returning to the race.

Turkington took the flag and got his title challenge back underway after a few poor weekends. Proctor and Cook took the other podium places for a strong BTC Racing showing.

Sutton, Smiley, Jake Hill, Aiden Moffat, Gordon Shedden, Rory Butcher and Tom Ingram rounded off the top ten.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR 26:03:813
2 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +4.254
3 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +8.076
4 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +8.643
5 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +12.071
6 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +13.061
7 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +13.111
8 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +16.273
9 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +25.848
10 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +27.688
11 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +27.899
12 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +28.167
13 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +28.487
14 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +29.759
15 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +30.167
16 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +30.727
17 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +32.558
18 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +33.619
19 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +34.705
20 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +35.693
21 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +38.341
22 Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD +38.665
23 Paul Rivett Ford Focus ST Motorbase +39.317
24 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +39.869
25 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +41.021
26 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +1 Lap
DNF Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport Mechanical (22)
DNF Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR Damage (21)
DNF Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed Crash (4)


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline