BTCC Brands Hatch – Rowbottom takes first ever pole in Team Dynamics front row lock out

Dan Rowbottom secured his first pole position as Team Dynamics locked out the front row in qualifying at Brands Hatch in the British Touring Car Championship.

He lapped the Kent circuit in 48 seconds with team mate Gordon Shedden just five thousandths behind in his Honda Civic Type R in what was an odd session at the famous circuit.

28 of the 29 cars were separated by under a second with only Nicholas Hamilton outside of the second.

Tom Ingram and Jake Hill set the early pace, with Tom Oliphant in close tow. After the early exchanges not many drivers were improving or setting faster times.

With Brands Hatch’s Indy layout being used, the biggest issue the drivers face is traffic, with 29 cars trying to find space on what is an incredibly short circuit. The other issue drivers faced was track limits, with drivers such as Ollie Jackson falling foul of them and having lap times removed.

Ingram and Hill both went wide at Paddock Hill bend when pushing to the limit, thankfully both continued and didn’t get stuck in the gravel.

With six minutes left in the session Rowbottom went fastest with a 48.0, a tenth faster than Hill’s benchmark before Shedden went second, just five thousandths of a second behind his team mate.

Rowbottom held on for his first ever BTCC pole, with Shedden behind and Hill third. Title challengers Ash Sutton (7th) and Colin Turkington (14th) have a lot of work to do in the first of three races tomorrow.

BTCC can be watched in the UK on ITV3 on Sunday.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics
2 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +0.005
3 Jake Hill Ford Focus MB Motorsport +0.105
4 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +0.110
5 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +0.244
6 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +0.258
7 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +0.296
8 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +0.298
9 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +0.333
10 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +0.354
11 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +0.354
12 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +0.357
13 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +0.359
14 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +0.383
15 Sam Osborne Ford Focus Motorbase +0.419
16 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +0.432
17 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +0.448
18 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +0.506
19 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus MB Motorsport +0.543
20 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +0.603
21 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +0.606
22 Glyn Geddie Cupra Leon Team HARD +0.653
23 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +0.682
24 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +0.811
25 Rick Parfitt Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +0.829
26 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +0.835
27 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +0.908
28 Andy Neate Ford Focus Motorbase +0.910
29 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +1.251


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline