BTCC Croft – King of Croft Turkington prevails with Shedden and Sutton in race-long fight

Colin Turkington secured a lights to flag win in the third and final race at Croft. The ‘King of Croft’ kept up his impressive record at the Yorkshire circuit with a win in the final race.

The story of the race was a handful of collisions, spins, and a titanic battle between two titans in Gordon Shedden and Ash Sutton.

The safety car came out on lap one as there was chaos further down the grid. Dan Lloyd ended up in the gravel trap, with Jack Mitchell spinning off after damaging his car in the melee. Jack Goff and Jade Edwards also involved picking up damage and seeing them retire from the race.

Racing returned on lap three with the restart, and the chaos continued as Jason Plato had an off at one of the fastest corners on the circuit. Miraculously he didn’t hit anything but he finished the race a lap down.

Adam Morgan and Stephen Jelley both had spins at the final complex on lap six. Other cars managed to avoid the pair as they were able to rejoin and continue.

Nick Halstead, deputising for Rick Parfitt Jr, had a moment going into the final corner as he ran wide and spun off. Again he kept it out of the tyre wall to keep his car going.

The main battle of the race was between Gordon Shedden and Ash Sutton. The pair, with five BTCC titles between them, it was a titanic battle between them with Sutton trying his hardest to make a move coming out of the final hairpin.

Colin Turkington cruised to the win, with Shedden managing to hang on with Sutton settling for third and extending his championship lead in the process.

Tom Ingram’s recovery from a poor qualifying was rewarded with another fourth place finish. Josh Cook and Aiden Moffat rounded off impressive weekends with fifth and sixth.

Jake Hill and Senna Proctor finished seventh and eighth with Dan Rowbottom and Tom Chilton rounding off the top ten in a frenetic but exciting race.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR 23:19:784
2 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +3.500
3 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +3.716
4 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +7.282
5 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +7.896
6 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +16.730
7 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +18.360
8 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +18.979
9 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +20.363
10 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +20.810
11 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +21.279
12 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +22.409
13 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +22.600
14 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +23.383
15 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +26.709
16 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +34.310
17 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +34.872
18 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Motorbase +36.467
19 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +36.939
20 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +45.435
21 Nick Halstead Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1 Lap
22 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +1 Lap
23 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +1 Lap
DNF Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 Mechanical
DNF Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport Suspension
DNF Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing Damage
DNF Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD Damage
DNF Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD Crash
DNF Dan  Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed Crash


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline