BTCC Croft – Jake Hill boosts title credentials with dominant win

Jake Hill cruised to a dominant win in race two at Croft to take his second British Touring Car Championship win. The win also boosts his title credentials.

While Hill pulled away there was chaos behind him with around 20 cars all running close behind each other. Aiden Moffat defended incredibly well to take second with Josh Cook in third.

Cook was in the action from the off as he and Colin Turkington made contact into the high speed section, thankfully both drivers came out unscathed. The end of lap one saw Rory Butcher’s wretched luck continue as he was out after a collision.

Tom Oliphant also had another race to forget as he retired with suspension damage and the safety car was deployed to recover the two stricken cars.

Just before the safety car was deployed Hill managed to squeeze past Moffat to take the lead.

On lap six came the restart, Hill managed to get away well with Josh Cook all over the back of team mate Senna Proctor, looking to find a way past the local driver.

By la eight Hill was two seconds clear, with Moffat fighting to hold off the BTC Honda duo of Cook and Proctor with the maximum 75kg ballast in his Infiniti.

Cook finally managed to pass Proctor with a gutsy move down the inside into the Sunny corner.

While Hill was strolling to the win, the action was behind him as Moffat was still defending, but with a gaggle of cars behind him all exchanging places. Turkington the biggest loser as he dropped a handful of places after contact with Gordon Shedden into turn one.

Tom Ingram came out of nowhere to be fourth by the end of lap 15 from 12th on the grid.

Hill took the win, the second of his career, with Moffat showing some incredible racecraft and defensive driving to take second, with Cook third.

Ingram finished fourth with championship leader Ash Sutton fifth, Shedden was sixth with Turkington seventh. Proctor finished eighth with Chris Smiley ninth and Adam Morgan tenth.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport 27:31:374
2 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +5.508
3 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +6.849
4 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +7.512
5 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +7.749
6 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +7.999
7 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +10.087
8 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +11.254
9 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +11.916
10 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +12.262
11 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +12.438
12 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +12.771
13 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +13.152
14 Ollie Jaclson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +13.370
15 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +13.810
16 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +14.927
17 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +15.131
18 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +15.330
19 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +16.011
20 Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD +16.472
21 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +17.225
22 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +18.419
23 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +19.013
24 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Motorbase +31.145
25 Nick Halstead Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +33.461
26 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1 Lap
DNF Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD Crash
DNF Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR Mechanical
DNF Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo Crash


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline