BTCC Snetterton – Sutton’s scintillating drive secures second win of season at Snetterton

Ash Sutton took his second win of the season after a blistering drive through the field in round five of the British Touring Car Championship at Snetterton.

He passed car after car on the quicker soft tyre, and hunted down race one winner Colin Turkington to take another win and bolster his championship defence.

Ollie Jackson had the best start flying into second place from fifth on the grid. Turkington led from the line. Glyn Geddie and Rick Parfitt collided coming onto the straight and Geddie retired with damage. Tom Chilton also retired with damage to the front of his Ciceley BMW.

By the end of lap two Sutton was sixth, passing Adam Morgan. Meanwhile Sutton’s team mate Aiden Moffat was given a five second penalty for a jump start.

Lap four and Sutton was fifth, squeezing down the inside of Stephen Jelley at the Wilson hairpin.

Next on his list was Hyundai’s Tom Ingram. The Excelr8 Hyundai was heavier than Sutton’s Infiniti and after a fierce battle Sutton boxed clever and passed Ingram.

The Wilson hairpin was again the scene of a Sutton overtake as he passed Jackson for second place.

Turkington was clear of the pack but had Sutton on the quicker tyre reeling him in.

Championship leader Jake Hill had a horror show, falling down the grid in the closing stages.

Lap nine saw Sutton finally pass Turkington into the Agostini hairpin, having been 1.3 seconds faster on the previous lap.

The battle for the final podium place was heating up in the final three laps. Ingram and Jackson fought hard, going side by side into Agostini as Ingram snuck past before losing it to Jackson again at the next corner.

Sutton took the win after a fantastic drive, with Turkington only half a second back. Jackson secured third with Ingram fourth and Rory Butcher fifth. Tom Oliphant and Stephen Jelley came home sixth and seventh respectively for Team WSR. Adam Morgan, Jack Goff and Aiden Moffat rounded off the top ten once Moffat’s penalty was applied.

Pos Driver Car Team
1 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools 23:49:604
2 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +0.451
3 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +8.603
4 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +8.769
5 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +10.524
6 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +10.859
7 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +12.065
8 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +13.364
9 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +13.662
10 Aiden Moffat* Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +16.204
11 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +16.228
12 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +16.577
13 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +16.925
14 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +17.295
15 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +18.605
16 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +21.190
17 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +22.534
18 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +26.536
19 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +26.720
20 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +39.770
21 Jessica Hawkins Ford Focus ST Motorbase +42.017
22 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +42.534
23 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +42.734
24 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +44.681
25 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +47.417
26 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +48.429
27 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excler8 +56.019
RET Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley Damage
RET Glyn Geddie Cupra Leon Team HARD Damage

*Aiden Moffat received a five second penalty for jumping the start.

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline