BTCC Knockhill – Sutton capitalizes on rare Turkington error to extend title lead

Ash Sutton capitalized on a rare Colin Turkington error to take the win in race two at Knockhill and extend his championship lead.

After a titanic race-long battle, Sutton prevailed when Turkington ran wide on the final lap.

At the start, Chris Smiley stalled on the start and didn’t get away, but further back Nicholas Hamilton moved across on Tom Oliphant, and caught the BMW, spinning into the wall and bringing out the safety car.

Lap seven saw the restart, with Josh Cook having to fend off Ash Sutton. On lap nine Sutton managed to pass Cook at the hairpin and began his hunt on Turkington.

On lap 12 Turkington had a 1.1 second lead, by lap 15 they were bumper to bumper. In a fascinating battle Sutton was well in the ascendancy. On lap 17 the pair were side by side heading into the hairpin, but Turkington prevailed this time.

Rory Butcher was fighting up the order and passed Tom Ingram with a nice switchback into the hairpin. By lap 22 he was past Moffat heading down the start-finish straight. However he came across too much on Moffat and the pair collided. Butcher’s race ended in the tyre barrier and brought out a second safety car.

On the restart Turkington was defending hard, heading into the final lap Turkington made an uncharacteristic mistake, running wide and opening the door for Sutton to pass and take the win to extend his title lead.

Turkington came second, with Jake Hill a fine third. Cook, Gordon Shedden, Ingram, Proctor, Jason Plato, Stephen Jelley and Carl Boardley rounded off the top ten.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools 27:06:766
2 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +1.043
3 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +1.770
4 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +2.258
5 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +2.672
6 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +3.202
7 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +4.427
8 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +4.829
9 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +5.068
10 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +5.656
11 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +8.393
12 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +8.714
13 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +9.246
14 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +10.003
15 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +13.090
16 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +13.197
17 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +13.503
18 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +14.535
19 Paul Rivett Ford Focus ST Motorbase +14.825
20 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +14.862
21 Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD +15.386
22 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +16.649
23 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +18.008
24 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +18.188
25 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +18.401
26 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +19.010
27 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1 Lap
DNF Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo Crash (22)
DNF Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD Crash (1)


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline