BTCC Snetterton – Ingram takes Excelr8’s first win in thrilling race

Tom Ingram took Excelr8’s first win in the British Touring Car Championship in a thrilling race three at Snetterton.

After taking the lead on lap five, Ingram strolled to the win to secure the Hyundai i30N’s first win too.

Stephen Jelley was on pole thanks to the reverse grid draw, and lead from the start. Carl Boardley was tapped coming out of Agostini and retired from the race.

Ingram managed to pass Jelley but he went back through to keep his lead. Tom Oliphant spun at Agostini and fell down the order with Ash Sutton fighting for another win as he was third by the end of lap two.

Ollie Jackson was next to retire as Gordon Shedden squeezed up the inside and tapped him. This caused damage to Jackson’s Ford Focus and he struggled to the pits.

Lap five saw Ingram take the lead as Jelley then had to fend off the trio of Sutton, Shedden, and Rory Butcher for second. Josh Cook was storming up from 14th with no ballast in his BTC Honda Civic and was fifth by the end of lap seven.

Sutton managed to pass Jelley on lap eight with Shedden getting past at Agostini after a clumsy tap from the Scotsman on Jelley. It was three places lost in as many corners as Cook passed him too.

Ingram strolled to the win as Shedden was fighting for second with Sutton, but he couldn’t quite pass with Sutton taking second and as a result moving into the championship lead leaving Snetterton.

Cook, Jelley and Butcher were next with Colin Turkington finishing seventh, Adam Morgan, Jack Goff and Dan Rowbottom rounded off the top ten.

Pos Driver Car Team
1 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 23:56:024
2 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +1.144
3 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +1.617
4 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +3.217
5 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +6.756
6 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +7.469
7 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +7.768
8 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +8.744
9 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +9.916
10 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +10.355
11 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +11.293
12 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +11.718
13 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +12.403
14 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +14.118
15 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +14.575
16 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +15.262
17 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +16.002
18 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +17.120
19 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +18.655
20 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +19.993
21 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +23.054
22 Glyn Geddie Cupra Leon Team HARD +27.350
23 Jessica Hawkins Ford Focus ST Motorbase +37.739
24 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +38.849
25 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +48.741
26 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +1:57.596
27 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +4 Laps
RET Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport Damage
RET Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools Damage


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline