BTCC Snetterton – Turkington wins at Snetterton for 8th time in dominant victory

Colin Turkington led from start to finish to take his 57th career win at Snetterton in round four of the British Touring Car Championship.

He took his eighth win at the Norfolk circuit, with Tom Ingram finishing second and Rory Butcher third.

Turkington led from the start, with the front wheel drive Hyundai of Ingram hot on his tail. The rear wheel drive BMW of Turkington took longer to heat up, giving Ingram chance to capitalise. At the Agostini hairpin Ingram made a move but couldn’t make it stick.

As Turkington got his car up to speed and pulled away his team mate Stephen Jelley made a good start, taking fourth before losing it to Ollie Jackson.

Gordon Shedden had pole position taken away from him after a rear wing infringement saw him disqualified from qualifying yesterday. He made a cracking start and was fighting Aiden Moffat with the pair tapping but no serious incident.

On lap seven Ingram set the fastest lap and appeared to be closing. Jake Hill started to lose ground due to him being championship leader he had maximum ballast onboard his Ford Focus ST. Tom Oliphant made his way through with Sutton trying the same. The reigning champion couldn’t get around the outside and lost a few places.

Jackson was the highest of the prime tyre runners, which was a slower tyre but longer lasting. Jelley retook his fourth place with Jackson then coming under pressure from Dan Lloyd.

On the penultimate lap Lloyd made a move on Jackson but it didn’t work and left him vulnerable to the BMW of Adam Morgan who swooped inside and took the place from him.

Jackson held on however in his slower Focus and held off the challenge of Morgan.

At the Wilson hairpin on the final lap Tom Chilton lost the backend and spun his BMW. He fell down the order and almost collected Jessica Hawkins in her Motorbase Ford.

Turkington took the win by nearly three seconds from Ingram and Butcher was seven seconds back in third. Jelley was fourth, with Jackson, Morgan, Lloyd and Oliphant coming next. Jake Hill finished ninth to retain his championship lead, with Chris Smiley finishing tenth.

Pos Driver Car Team
1 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR 23:36:287
2 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +2.932
3 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +9.451
4 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +13.960
5 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +16.921
6 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +17.572
7 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +18.049
8 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +18.373
9 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +21.951
10 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +22.583
11 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +22.852
12 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +23.759
13 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +24.993
14 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +25.415
15 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +26.015
16 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +27.736
17 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +28.663
18 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +29.382
19 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +29.942
20 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +32.857
21 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +34.464
22 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +35.358
23 Jessica Hawkins Ford Focus ST Motorbase +38.361
24 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +40.530
25 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +41.030
26 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +41.774
27 Glyn Geddie Cupra Leon Team HARD +42.730
28 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +43.230
29 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +58.734


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline