BTCC Brands Hatch – Morgan takes lights to flag win in exciting final race

Adam Morgan took the final win of the day at Brands Hatch, the ninth win of his career and the first for Ciceley’s new car.

He led from start to finish in his new BMW 330i M Sport with Team HARD’s Jack Goff finishing second and Aiden Moffat rounded off the podium for Laser Tools.

Morgan was placed on pole thanks to the reverse grid draw, and used his rear wheel drive to his advantage as he led from lights to flag. Behind him was where all the action was.

There was an exciting race-long fight between Jason Plato and the BTC duo of Josh Cook and Senna Proctor. Proctor passed Plato on lap two before the veteran took his place back in to Druids.

Goff himself was in a new car, the Cupra Leon is new for 2021 and he took second on lap 11 and kept it there for an impressive result for the Team HARD outfit. The only retirement of the race came on lap 11 as Ollie Jackson’s bonnet came up and he pulled into the pits and retired the car to cap off a frustrating weekend for him.

Another person who had a frustrating weekend was Colin Turkington, who avoided going point-less at a BTCC race weekend for the first time since 2003 with a 14th place finish.

Plato managed to pull away from the BTC Honda’s and hunted down Moffat. The pair enjoyed a ding-dong battle to the flag with Moffat prevailing and holding on to third place.

His team mate Ash Sutton took back the lead of the championship with Tom Ingram close behind.

Morgan took the win, win number nine of his career with Goff and Moffat on the podium alongside him. Plato, Cook and Proctor were next, with Rory Butcher, Sutton, Dan Lloyd and Chris Smiley rounding off the top ten.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley 19:57:584
2 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +1.541
3 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +3.807
4 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +3.819
5 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +4.448
6 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +4.874
7 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +5.343
8 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +6.011
9 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +6.375
10 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +6.890
11 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +7.204
12 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +7.446
13 Jake Hill Ford Focus MB Motorsport +8.688
14 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +9.299
15 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +9.937
16 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +10.141
17 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +12.633
18 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +14.169
19 Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +14.431
20 Sam Osborne Ford Focus Motorbase +14.829
21 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +16.248
22 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +16.631
23 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +21.528
24 Glyn Geddie Cupra Leon Team HARD +24.674
25 Andy Neate Ford Focus Motorbase +27.802
26 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +28.456
27 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +28.683
28 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +2 Laps
DNF Ollie Jackson Ford Focus MB Motorsport Bonnet


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline