BTCC Thruxton – Morgan takes win in race with three safety car periods

Adam Morgan took his second win of the season in the final race of the weekend at Thruxton. Colin Turkington finished second with Senna Proctor third in a race which had three safety car periods.

It didn’t take long for the first safety car to be deployed. Gordon Shedden’s Honda made contact with Jade Edwards’ Honda, sending the pair into the wall and out of the race. The safety car came out to recover the cars.

On the restart on lap six, Ingram was hunting down Sutton, with both drivers fighting for the championship. On lap seven Ingram squeezed past Sutton at the final chicane. Jason Plato seized his opportunity and passed Sutton too.

The second safety car was brought out on lap ten as Sam Smelt and Carl Boardley made contact. Smelt’s car came to a halt on track while Boardley crawled back to the pits.

Just before the safety car was deployed, Ingram passed Stephen Jelley in a brave move around the outside at the high speed Noble corner.

The race was briefly restarted on lap 13 with Ollie Jackson retiring on lap 14 with a right suspension failure. The safety car was brought out for the third time to retrieve his car.

Lap 16 saw the restart, and a point of contention. Coming into the final chicane Morgan locked up heavily, and decided to cut the chicane instead of attempt to make the corner. He made a large gap on Turkington, which he later slowed down to rule out. However the argument could be made that it denied Turkington an overtaking opportunity.

On the final lap Ingram made another daring move on Rory Butcher and took fifth place.

Morgan took the win, with Turkington in second and Proctor in third. Hill, Ingram Butcher, Cook, Plato, Smiley and Sutton rounded off the top ten. 

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley 32:38:972
2 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +0.313
3 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +0.767
4 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +1.344
5 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +2.728
6 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +3.022
7 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +3.412
8 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +3.653
9 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +3.954
10 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +4.440
11 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +4.750
12 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +5.660
13 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +5.925
14 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +6.618
15 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +6.969
16 Jack Butel Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +7.570
17 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +8.029
18 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +8.486
19 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +8.838
20 Rick Parfitt Jr Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +9.410
21 Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD +14.049
22 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +21.820
23 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +1 Lap
DNF Paul Rivett Ford Focus ST Motorbase Mechanical
DNF Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport Suspension
DNF Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools Crash
DNF Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo Crash
DNF Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics Crash
DNF Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing Crash
Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline