BTCC Brands Hatch – Sutton celebrates title with win in final round

Ash Sutton celebrated his title win by cruising to his fifth race win of the year in the final race of the season at Brands Hatch.

He burst through from fourth on the grid to stroll to the win in his Infiniti. Dan Rowbottom and Tom Ingram rounded off the podium after a race-long battle between the pair.

Rory Butcher had a poor start which allowed Sutton to fly into third. He was soon past Chilton into second, with Rowbottom into third as he passed Chilton on lap two.

Sutton’s team mate Carl Boardley spun off and his season ended early at Graham Hill bend.  As did Colin Turkington’s, with his title challenge over, he had a moment coming out of Graham Hill bend and pulled into the pits.

Lap three and Sutton made his move for the lead past Stephen Jelley into Paddock Hill bend.

Jack Mitchell went off in his Cupra Leon to bring out the final Safety Car of the season. While this neutralised the race, Sutton still had everything under control.

He pulled away into the distance and left Rowbottom and Ingram to squabble for second place. The Hyundai driver couldn’t quite get the better of the Team Dynamics Honda and Rowbottom took second in an impressive debut season having replaced Matt Neal.

Jake Hill finished fourth with Josh Cook having to settle for third in the championship and couldn’t capitalise on Turkington’s retirement having won the first two races of the season.

Tom Chilton recorded his best finish of the season in sixth. Shedden finished seventh with Jack Goff, Butcher and Jason Plato rounding off the top ten.

The title went to Sutton, who won his third title and his second successive championship.

Pos Driver Car Team +/-
1 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools 30:22:671
2 Dan Rowbottom Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +1.369
3 Tom Ingram Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1.502
4 Jake Hill Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +3.274
5 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +8.001
6 Tom Chilton BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +8.960
7 Gordon Shedden Honda Civic Type R Team Dynamics +9.682
8 Jack Goff Cupra Leon Team HARD +10.043
9 Rory Butcher Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +11.992
10 Jason Plato Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +13.002
11 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST MB Motorsport +14.806
12 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +15.345
13 Dan Lloyd Vauxhall Astra Power Maxed +15.962
14 Aron Taylor-Smith Cupra Leon Team HARD +17.214
15 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +17.461
16 Adam Morgan BMW 330i M Sport Ciceley +17.697
17 Sam Osborne Ford Focus ST Motorbase +19.176
18 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools +19.397
19 Senna Proctor Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +20.545
20 Jade Edwards Honda Civic Type R BTC Racing +21.143
21 Sam Smelt Toyota Corolla Toyota Gazoo +21.462
22 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Motorbase +31.965
23 Nicholas Hamilton Cupra Leon Team HARD +32.503
24 Stephen Jelley BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR +42.127
25 Andy Wilmot Hyundai i30N Excelr8 +1 Lap
DNF Jack Mitchell Cupra Leon Team HARD Crash
DNF Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport Team WSR Damage
DNF Carl Boardley Infiniti Q50 Laser Tools Crash
DNS Rick Parfitt Hyundai i30N Excelr8 Mechanical


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline