BTCC Knockhill Roundup – Sutton double boosts title credentials

Race One

Ash Sutton pulled off the line from pole and never surrendered the lead. Turkington was close behind and was fighting the 2017 champion all the way to the line.

Josh Cook had a big off on the run into the uphill chicane, spinning and going backwards into the tyre wall.

The fight for the podium was a great one as Jake Hill and Tom Ingram fought for third with Hill prevailing from the Toyota driver.

Sutton took his third win of the season and only strengthened his title credentials, with Turkington and Hill following close behind.

Race Two

After a great effort from the BTC Racing team to fix Josh Cook’s car. He was put into a spin on the first corner and was out of the race. The torrid season for Cook continued.

It was more of the same for Sutton and Turkington, as they took first and second with the BMW driver only seven tenths behind the winner. Ingram this time took third.

After race two Senna Proctor was drawn to start race three on pole position, with Rory Butcher alongside

Race Three

Rory Butcher got the best start off the line to take the lead from Proctor. He pulled out a one second lead before his team mate Ollie Jackson was involved in a crash on lap two.

Jackson was spinning through the uphill chicane and ended up on the apex. Mike Bushell had nowhere to go and hit Jackson, with Sam Osborne picking up damage too, prompting a red flag.

On the restart Butcher got away fastest again, so quick in fact that the stewards investigated it. Tom Chilton rocketed off the line into third. Tom Oliphant pulled off a fine move into turn one, passing the Hyundai of Chris Smiley on two wheels.

Butcher pulled out a commanding lead and took his second win of the season, with Proctor finishing a fine second and Chilton rounded off the podium.

Driver Car R1 R2 R3
Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport 2 2 9
Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport 8 6 4
Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 7 15 12
Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 6 4 6
Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla 4 3 10
Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 1 1 11
Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 9 5 8
Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 DNF DNF 15
Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 11 7 3
Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 17 17 16
Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N 13 11 2
Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N 14 9 7
Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 3 8 5
Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 19 18 DNF
Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST 5 10 1
Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST 16 13 DNF
Andy Neate Ford Focus ST DNF DNF 20
Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class 12 14 14
Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class 20 21 22
Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon 18 DSQ 19
James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon DNF 20 18
Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport 15 12 17
Jack Goff VW CC DNS 19 21
Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport 10 DNF 13
Mike Bushell Vauxhall Astra 21 16 DNF

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2017 The Pitcrewonline