Tom Oliphant secures first ever BTCC win at Brands Hatch

Tom Oliiphant took his first ever British Touring Car Championship win in the third and final round at Brands Hatch GP. He held off Ash Sutton all race long with Stephen Jelley taking the final podium spot.

Jelley had the best start as he moved from fourth to second, behind him mayhem ensued. Coming out of Druids Jack Goff and Senna Proctor collided, with the latter almost spinning, sending Goff onto the grass. His car span into the path of the Toyota of Tom Ingram, taking both out.

Oliphant took the lead at the end of lap one and never surrendered it, despite intense pressure from Sutton in his Infiniti.

Rory Butcher had done incredibly well to recover from his race one puncture heartbreak to be fighting for second in the final race of the day.

Dan Cammish had another miserable race as for the second time in a row his Honda Civic broke down with mechanical issues on lap nine.

Punctures were a common theme at Brands Hatch, with Jake Hill suffering a puncture on lap 11. Two laps later and heartbreak again for Butcher as he suffered a puncture going into Paddock bend. Losing all the progress he had made in race two. On the same lap Chris Smiley in his Hyundai crashed from fourth place.

Oliphant took the win by just three tenths from Sutton with Jelley finishing third. Pole sitter Aiden Moffat was fourth with championship leader Colin Turkington fifth and Matt Neal recovering from a poor weekend to take sixth.

James Gornall secured his best ever finish with Tom Chilton eighth and Proctor ninth. Sam Osborne rounded off the top ten with Ollie Brown, Jack Butel and Nicolas Hamilton all picking up points.

Pos Team Car Interval
1 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport
2 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 +0.324
3 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +4.978
4 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +5.981
5 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport +6.611
6 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +8.857
7 James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon +9.951
8 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +14.430
9 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +15.462
10 Sam Osborne Honda CIvic Type R FK2 +17.410
11 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 +18.605
12 Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon +19.104
13 Ollie Brown VW CC +27.411
14 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +30.531
15 Nicolas Hamilton VW CC +38.896
16 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +53.711
17 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +1:30.770
18 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST +1 Lap
19 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +2 Laps
20 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +3 Laps
21 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +3 Laps
DNF Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 Puncture
DNF Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class Mechanical
DNF Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 Mechanical
DNF Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla Collision
DNF Jack Goff VW CC Collision

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline