BTCC Snetterton – Turkington survives late safety car to retake championship lead

Colin Turkington survived a late safety car to take his second win of the day and move into the lead of the championship. Tom Ingram was second with Ash Sutton third.

Jake Hill was swamped at the start and lost places to Sutton, Butcher and Cammish on the start.

Ollie Jackson had an impressive start, making up ten places by the end of lap one to sit 11th.

While Turkington was pulling away as his tyres warmed up, the battle was between the other four title protagonists. Ingram, Butcher, Sutton and Cammish were all bumper to bumper for the majority of the race.

Turkington was pulling away, as he did in race one. Building up a three second lead. However his lead was extinguished as Jack Goff crashed on the exit of turn one and brought out the safety car with just one lap to go.

It was a one lap shootout once the safety car went in. Butcher mistimed his braking and collided with Ingram. This sent the Toyota wide and Sutton managed to sneak up the inside of Butcher. Ingram maintained second with Sutton taking third.

Turkington held on for the win as the others fought behind him. Ingram second with Sutton third and Butcher fourth. Jake Hill gazumped Cammish for fifth with a pass in the final few corners, with Josh Cook and Adam Morgan in seventh and eighth and Ollie Jackson’s remarkable drive rewarded him with ninth place. The top ten was rounded off by Chris Smiley in the Excelr8 Hyundai.

Pos Driver Car Interval
1 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport
2 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla +1.763
3 Ash Sutton Infiniti  Q50 +1.914
4 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +3.547
5 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +3.742
6 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 +3.789
7 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +4.714
8 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +4.987
9 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +4.993
10 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +5.355
11 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport +5.989
12 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +6.712
13 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +7.578
14 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 +8.193
15 Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 +9.060
16 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +9.577
17 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +10.747
18 Glyn Geddie VW CC +10.913
19 Ethan Hammerton Audi S3 Saloon +11.583
20 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz  A Class +12.176
21 Jessica Hawkins Vauxhall Astra +12.588
22 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST +12.861
23 Paul Rivett Audi S3 Saloon +29.398
24 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +34.317
25 Nicolas Hamilton VW CC +1 Lap
26 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +3 Laps
RET Jack Goff VW CC Crash

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline