BTCC Silverstone – Turkington profits from Ingram and Sutton punctures to take championship lead

Colin Turkington profited from the misfortune of others to take the win in the second race at Silverstone to retake the British Touring Car Championship lead.

Punctures to title rivals Tom Ingram and Ash Sutton late in the race saw Turkington take the win and open up a six point lead at the top.

Race one winner Dan Cammish was fastest off the line but lost the lead to Ingram at Luffield. Sutton passed Turkington at Copse but fell down the order after a small collision with Rory Butcher, who spun to the back of the grid.

Sutton was tenth and seemed to be struggling, but his Infiniti team mate Aiden Moffat was storming through the field in his 200th BTCC race. He was stuck behind Sutton but finally made a move.

The top three of Ingram, Turkington and Cammish were all close, fighting hard for the win. Turkington’s team mate Tom Oliphant retired from race one with a suspension issue, but he made up for it by flying through the field to finish ninth.

On lap 17 Sutton suffered a puncture, ruining his race and putting him at the back for race three. Ingram then suffered a puncture a lap later, with Turkington the big winner, inheriting the lead and seeing his two title rivals fall to the back of the grid.

He guided his BMW home to take the win and his 150th BTCC podium, with Cammish and Adam Morgan rounding off the podium.

Matt Neal was fourth, with Moffat’s storming drive being rewarded with fifth. Josh Cook, Jake Hill and Ollie Jackson all had strong finishes, with Tom Oliphant going from 25th to ninth at the chequered flag, with Hyundai’s Senna Proctor rounding out the top ten.

Pos Grid Driver Car Interval
1 4 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport
2 1 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 +1.245
3 6 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +3.172
4 8 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +7.876
5 11 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +12.576
6 10 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +13.804
7 7 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +14.500
8 13 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +14.910
9 25 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport +15.102
10 14 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +16.911
11 15 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +17.115
12 17 Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 +17.831
13 18 Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon +18.380
14 3 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +18.559
15 16 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +20.016
16 22 James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon +20.404
17 20 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +21.098
18 19 Tom Onslow-Cole VW CC +21.446
19 27 Jack Goff VW CC +21.913
20 9 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +22.858
21 23 Jade Edwards Vauxhall Astra +25.507
22 21 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST +26.205
23 12 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +43.244
24 24 Nicolas Hamilton VW CC +1 Lap
25 2 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla +1 Lap
26 5 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 +2 Laps
DNF 26 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 Mechanical

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline