BTCC Thruxton – Ingram takes first win of season as Turkington retires

Tom Ingram picked up his first win of the season at Thruxton in a race which saw championship protagonist Colin Turkington suffer a misfire.

Ingram leapt into the lead off the start and held off Cammish by just over half a second at the chequered flag. Cammish’s Team Dynamics team mate Matt Neal rounded off the podium.

Jake Hill had started well but spun on lap four at the final chicane, compromising his weekend.

On lap six Ash Sutton passed championship rival Colin Turkington in a nice pass, but Turkington started falling down the grid. He had a loss of power and a misfire. Effectively retiring from the race which could have huge ramifications for the championship battle.

Sutton then passed Butcher coming out of the Complex chicane on lap eight, It was an expertly taken move by the 2017 champion.

On lap 11 Andy Neate and Carl Boardley had a coming together at the Complex. It was a clumsy move by Neate who tried to pass Boardley on the outside when he already had the inside line.

Cammish was pressuring Ingram in the final stages back at the front, with just half a second between the pair. However Ingram held on for his and Toyota’s first win of the season.

Cammish and Neal celebrated sponsor Yuasa’s tenth anniversary of being in the BTCC with a double podium. Adam Morgan, Sutton, Butcher, Tom Chilton, Tom Oliphant, Josh Cook and Michael Crees rounded off the top ten.

Fan favourite Rob Austin finished 12th in the Power Maxed Vauxhall Astra and Tom Onslow-Cole returned to the BTCC with a 21st place finish.

Pos Driver Car Interval
1 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla
2 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 +0.644
3 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +8.578
4 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +9.064
5 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 +18.578
6 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +19.776
7 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +20.374
8 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport +21.234
9 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +21.487
10 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 +21.888
11 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +24.456
12 Rob Austin Vauxhall Astra +27.261
13 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +27.587
14 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +27.879
15 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +29.910
16 Jack Goff VW CC +30.192
17 Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon +30.478
18 James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon +38.403
19 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +44.675
20 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +48.784
21 Tom Onslow-Cole VW CC +52.965
22 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +1 Lap
23 Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 + 3 Laps
24 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport +4 Laps
RET Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport Crash
RET Andy Neate Ford Focus ST Crash
RET Nicolas Hamilton VW CC Clutch

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline