BTCC Silverstone – Cammish takes win after fascinating fight with Ingram

Dan Cammish took the seventh win of his British Touring Car Championship career after holding off the Toyota of Tom Ingram in a thrilling race at Silverstone.

Cammish made a good start with Ingram close behind. The pair traded the lead a few times, with Ingram passing on the exit of Becketts and Cammish taking it back into Brooklands.

The Safety Car was brought out on lap five as Michael Crees was tipped into a spin and collided with James Gornall, with Crees beaching his Honda Civic in the gravel. Cammish and Ingram were fighting hard to be ahead for the SC period, with the pair separated by just nine thousandths of a second.

On the restart Cammish and Ingram continued to fight, with the battle for third being the more intriguing. Rory Butcher was holding off Colin Turkington and Ash Sutton while Tom Oliphant retired as his BMW went over a kerb and broke his suspension.

With Sutton breathing down his neck, Turkington had to be careful when plotting a move on Butcher ahead. The Scotsman in his Motorbase Ford Focus held off the hard charging duo to take third, with Turkington and Sutton fourth and fifth.

Cammish pulled away to take his seventh BTCC win with Ingram behind, who makes further inroads into the championship lead.

Adam Morgan, Jake HIll, Matt Neal, Stephen Jelley and Josh Cook rounded off the top ten. Jade Edwards, the first female driver to race in the BTCC since Fiona Leggate in 2007, finished 23rd after being pushed off track by Andy Neate.

Sutton still leads the championship but his lead has been cut down by Turkington and Ingram.

Pos Grid Driver Car Interval
1 1 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8
2 2 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla +1.081
3 3 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +4.468
4 4 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport +4.815
5 7 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50 +5.049
6 8 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +7.516
7 10 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +8.957
8 6 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +9.368
9 14 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +10.856
10 12 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +14.030
11 15 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +17.706
12 13 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +18.898
13 11 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +18.915
14 16 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +19.500
15 9 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +19.713
16 21 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +20.870
17 17 Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 +22.368
18 19 Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon +22.812
19 20 Tom Onslow-Cole VW CC +23.639
20 27 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +24.784
21 23 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST +25.131
22 26 James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon +25.412
23 25 Jade Edwards Vauxhall Astra +27.430
24 24 Nicolas Hamilton VW CC +29.812
DNF 5 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport Suspension
DNF 22 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 Crash
DNF 18 Jack Goff VW CC Mechanical

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline