Ash Sutton takes second win of season at Oulton Park

Ash Sutton took his second win of the season in round eight of the British Touring Car Championship at Oulton Park.

Rory Butcher finished second with championship leader Colin Turkington in third rounding off the podium in a wet race.

Butcher led off the start but Sutton surged into contention, passing Jake Hill around the outside at Cascades on lap two.

Turkington, Dan Cammish and Sutton were fighting for second place. The trio were getting incredibly close but it was Sutton in the Infiniti who powered into second place.

Within two laps he was on the tail of race leader Butcher, fighting for the lead and showing incredible pace. On lap eight he finally made his move as Butcher went wide into turn one. Sutton got the better exit and powered into the lead.

Honourable mentions have to be made for Matt Neal and Josh Cook, both moved into the points from starting near the back of the grid. Neal was making his 700th race start in the BTCC, an incredible achievement.

On lap 13 Turkington got past Cammish after pressuring him all race. Cammish went wide at the Island hairpin and Turkington seized the opportunity to take third place. It was disaster for BTC Racing as Michael Crees tapped Josh Cook into a spin at the chicane. Putting his teammate in the wall, and halting an incredible recovery for Cook, who’s had torrid luck this season.

Sutton took the win to endorse his title credentials, with Butcher and Turkington on the podium. Cammish, Tom Ingram, Tom Oliphant, Hill, Adam Morgan, Tom Chilton and Bobby Thompson rounded off the top ten.

Pos Driver Car Interval
1 Ash Sutton Infiniti Q50
2 Rory Butcher Ford Focus ST +4.716
3 Colin Turkington BMW 330i M Sport +7.260
4 Dan Cammish Honda Civic Type R FK8 +10.412
5 Tom Ingram Toyota Corolla +10.779
6 Tom Oliphant BMW 330i M Sport +14.678
7 Jake Hill Honda Civic Type R FK2 +15.890
8 Tom Chilton Honda Civic Type R FK8 +16.629
9 Adam Morgan Mercedes Benz A Class +17.573
10 Bobby Thompson Audi S3 Saloon +18.095
11 Senna Proctor Hyundai i30N +24.166
12 Michael Crees Honda Civic Type R FK8 +26.086
13 Matt Neal Honda Civic Type R FK8 +27.883
14 Chris Smiley Hyundai i30N +30.474
15 Ollie Jackson Ford Focus ST +30.981
16 Aiden Moffat Infiniti Q50 +35.353
17 Sam Osborne Honda Civic Type R FK2 +38.232
18 Jack Goff VW CC +38.298
19 Andy Neate Ford Focus ST +41.373
20 Stephen Jelley BMW 125i M Sport +46.396
21 Josh Cook Honda Civic Type R FK8 +47.999
22 Ollie Brown VW CC +52.373
23 Nicolas Hamilton VW CC +54.427
24 Jack Butel Mercedes Benz A Class +55.217
25 Carl Boardley BMW 125i M Sport +55.392
26 Mike Bushell Vauxhall Astra +1:23.557
DNF James Gornall Audi S3 Saloon Mechanical

Image Credit: BTCC Media

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline