Formula E Driver Changes, Calendar and What to Watch For during Season 10

After several months since the conclusion of FIA Formula E Season 9, we are back with more electric racing! Well…later this week, we are. The FIA Formula E  championship returns this Friday for it’s tenth season. Round 1 will kick off in Mexico City, a staple of the electric series since it’s second season. Since we last went green, there have been quite a lot of changes, primarily in the driver market.

Drivers and Teams for Season 10:

Envision Racing:

Drivers: Sebastian Buemi and Robin Frijns

Powertrain: Jaguar I-Type 6

Season 9 Teams Championship Position:  1st Place (Champions)

There is a shake up at the current teams champion with Nick Cassidy departing for Jaguar. Robin Frijns rejoins Envision after a year of absence, eager to make the Jaguar powertrain which has been so dominant in the last few years a success of his own.

Jaguar TCS Racing:

Drivers: Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy

Powertrain: Jaguar I-Type 6

Season 9 Teams Championship Position: 2nd Place

Jaguar has arguably the most anticipated pairing going into the tenth season of Formula E.  The New Zealand duo of Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy, both in the title hunt and collecting race wins throughout the last few seasons, it will be all to play for this season.

Nick Cassidy, Jaguar TCS Racing, Jaguar I-TYPE 6
Image Credit: Simon Galloway

Andretti Formula E:

Drivers: Jake Dennis and Norman Nato

Powertrain: Porsche 99X Electric Gen3

Season 9 Teams Championship Position: 3rd Place

The current world champion will have a new livery design, helmet design, a new number and a new teammate. The Andretti duo will support a white livery as Nato joins the American team of the departing Andre Lotterer after a decent season last year where saw him scoop a podium.

Tag Heuer Porsche Formula E Team:

Drivers: Pascal Wehrlein and Antonio Felix Da Costa

Powertrain: Porsche 99X Electric Gen3

Season 9 Teams Championship Position: 4th Place

One of three unchanged driver pairings from last season, Wehrlein and Da Costa both racked up race wins throughout their season 9 campaign and they will be wanting to aim to equal these stats or higher in season 10 as Porsche hopes to go from strength to strength.

DS Penske:

Drivers: Stoffel Vandorrne and Jean-Eric Vergne

Powertrain: DS E-TENSE FE2

Season 9 Teams Championship Position: 5th Place

The two former World Champions remain at DS Penske for a second season as they aim to go up the standings, it was a very subdued season for them last season with double champion Vergne the only bright light with a handful of podium appearances, but this could change.

Maserati MSG Racing:

Drivers: Maximilian Guenther and Jehan Daruvala

Powertrain: Maserati Tipo Folgore

Season 9 Team Championship Position: 6th

At the Trident team, Guenther remains at the team after picking up a victory in 2023, he has proven to be a consistent driver throughout his time in the series. He is partnered by the only rookie in this season as Jehan Daruvala takes the slot. Replacing veteran Edo Mortara, Daruvala raced in Formula 2 last season.

Nissan Formula E Team:

Drivers: Sacha Fenestraz and Oliver Rowland

Powertrain: Nissan e-4ORCE 04

Season 9 Teams Championship Position:  7th

Nissan will be hoping to reignite some of the old magic, they retain 2023 rookie Sacha Fenestraz which was excellent last year, and the departing Norman Nato is replaced by familar face Oliver Rowland, who had some success with the manufacturer a few seasons ago.

NEOM McLaren Formula E Team:

Drivers: Sam Bird and Jake Hughes

Powertrain: Nissan e-4ORCE 04

Season 9 Teams Championship Position:  8th Place

The Papaya team retain Jake Hughes for 2024, who had a stellar season. Rene Rast departs, leaving Sam Bird, arguably one of the most talented and experienced drivers at the helm.

ERT Racing:

Drivers: Dan Ticktum and Sergio Sette Camara

Powertrain: ERT X24

Season 9 Teams Championship Position:  9th Place

The team formally known as NIO 333 have had a branding change to ERT. The lineup of Ticktum and Sette Camara remains unchanged and they will be eager to go up the standings and pick up some points.

Mahindra Racing:

Drivers: Nyck De Vries and Eduardo Mortara

Powertrain: Mahindra M9Electro

Season 9 Teams Championship Position:  10th Place

Mahindra, on the other hand, have completely revamped their line up. Nyck De Vrie,s the former world champion rejoins the Indian outfit after his stint at Alpha Tauri in Formula 1 and studying at Harvard. He will be joined by Eduardo Mortara, a stalwart of the series.

Nyck de Vries, Mahindra Racing, Mahindra M9Electro
Image Credit: Simon Galloway

Abt Cupra Formula E Team:

Drivers: Lucas Di Grassi and Nico Muller

Powertrain: Mahindra M9 Electro

Season 9 Teams Championship Position: 11th Place

Abt Cupra retains Nico Muller while Lucas Di Grassi joins the team after departing Mahindra. The German team will be wanting to put an end to its podium draught after ending Season 9 with zero podiums, the first in the team’s history while competing in Formula E.

Calendar for Season 10:

There are some major changes from Season 9 in terms of the Calendar, the Jakarta ePrix is scrapped, and the inaugeral India ePrix has also been cancelled, the iconic Rome ePrix has been replaced by a race in Misano.

Round Number Race Date Previous Winner
1 Mexico City ePrix 13th January 2024 Jake Dennis
2 Diryah ePrix 26th January 2024 Pascal Wehrlein
3 Diryah ePrix 27th January 2024 Pascal Wehrlein
4 Sao Paulo ePrix 16th March 2024 Mitch Evans
5 Tokyo ePrix 30th March 2024 Debut Event in Season 10
6 Misano ePrix 13th April 2024 Debut Event in Season 10
7 Misano ePrix 14th April 2024 Debut Event in Season 10
8 Monaco ePrix 27th April 2024 Nick Cassidy
9 Berlin ePrix 11th May 2024 Mitch Evans
10 Berlin ePrix 12th May 2024 Nick Cassidy
11 Shanghai ePrix 25th May 2024 Debut Event in Season 10
12 Shanghai ePrix 26th May 2024 Debut Event in Season 10
13 Portland ePrix 29th June 2024 Nick Cassidy
14 Portland ePrix* 30th June 2024 Nick Cassidy
15 London ePrix 20th July 2024 Mitch Evans
16 London ePrix 21st July 2024 Nick Cassidy

What to look out for in 2024 for Formula E:

As the number of Formula E seasons enters the double digits (they grow up so fast!) here are some highlights which will be on the radar of many people throughout the entire season:

The Battle For The Top Spot at Jaguar:

As mentioned, Jaguar TCS Racing will have a duo of Kiwi drivers this season: Mitch Evans and Nick Cassidy. Although Cassidy is the new guy on the block, he shone brightly last year and came close to claming the championship title. Their inter team battle will be one to watch throughout the entire season as Evans will want to hold onto top dog status while Cassidy will want to prove himself in his new team.

Champion Comeback:

With Jake Dennis signing a multi year contract with  Andretti and the Season 7 champion Nyck De Vries returning to Formula E, there will be 7 champions on the grid who will want to reclaim the title crown of electric motorsport with Dennis certain to want to equal Vergne’s back to back title wins.

Nyck de Vries, Mahindra Racing and Jake Dennis, Andretti Global
Image Credit: Simon Galloway

New Venue Debuts:

With season 10 of Formula E, there will be 3 new venues: Tokyo, Misano and Shanghai. With only the Tokyo ePrix circuit layout being unveiled (as of right now), it will be fascinating to see how each of these new venues play into the championship.

What do you think about Formula E Season 10? Do you have any predictions ahead of the Mexico City ePrix?

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline