Moto2: Wild Weather Suits Winner Arbolino

A drama-filled weekend on Phillip Island resulted in a change in time for the Moto2 race due to the strong winds and heavy rain predicted.

After being the pacesetter for all the qualifying sessions, Fermin Aldeguer set the Moto2 lap record in the second qualifying session, after breaking it in practice three. His time of a 1:31.888 was 0.4s ahead of his countryman Aron Canet. He was joined by Alonso Lopez on the front row.

Joe Roberts had a brilliant qualifying session, putting his Italtrans Racing Team bike at the head of the second row alongside championship leader, Pedro Acosta, and Jake Dixon. Tony Arbolino, second in the championship, qualified in eighth place.

The weather on Phillip Island was cold, rainy, and windy and this resulted in the riders struggling to keep warm on the grid. That was, if the riders made it to the grid.

Acosta crashed on the sighting lap at turn four and even with the help of the marshals was unable to get the bike restarted. Due to this, he had to start the formation lap from the pit lane and the race from the back of the grid.

Canet got a good start from the middle of the front row and was able to take the lead from Aldeguer however the Beta Tools SpeedUp rider took the lead back at the southern loop. Arbolino was able to get past almost all the riders in front of him to end up in second place at the turn three.

Lopez was able to recover from his poor start and was leading the race until he had a big crash at turn four which meant that the riders had to weave around him. Following this, Sergio Garcia was at the front of the field.

Acosta improved from 31st place to 26th after the first lap.

Arbolino passed Dixon for third place on the second lap and Sam Lowes was sitting patiently behind his countryman, looking to get past. On the second lap, the Italian rider was the fastest rider on the circuit.

At turn one on lap three, Darryn Binder crashed and Zonta vd Goorbergh also crashed on the same lap at turn four. His teammate, Barry Baltus also crashed at the same corner on the same lap.

After leading for a few laps, Garcia crashed at turn eight on lap four. Lowes crashed at turn ten on the same lap.

By lap five, there were yellow flags out at all sectors due to all the crashes that had occurred. Dixon went down at the southern loop, keeping the yellow flags out in the first sector.

Arbolino had extended his lead to 11.380s from Aldeguer due to setting laps three seconds faster than the rest of the field. He was unstoppable at the front of the pack.

Mattia Casadei crashed at Miller Corner, causing another yellow flag.

By lap six, Acosta had made it into the top ten following his back of the grid start and Izan Guevara made a double overtake on Alcoba and Chantra.

On the ninth lap, Celestino Vietti crashed out of thirteenth place and following this, a red flag was called due to the weather conditions. The race was not restarted, and half points were awarded because two-thirds race distance was not completed.

This meant that Arbolino took the win in the horrific weather in Australia from Aron Canet and Fermin Aldeguer. Pedro Acosta was able to improve from his back of the grid start to finish in ninth place.

Feature Image Credit: Tony Arbolino on X (@TonyArbolino)

1 Tony Arbolino ITA Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 16m 22.970s
2 Aron Canet SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 16m 38.058s
3 Fermín Aldeguer SPA Beta Tools SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 16m 38.584s
4 Jeremy Alcoba SPA QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 14m 58.401s
5 Joe Roberts USA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 14m 59.122s
6 Izan Guevara SPA Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 14m 59.124s
7 Somkiat Chantra THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 14m 59.908s
8 Bo Bendsneyder NED Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 15m 3.659s
9 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 15m 8.067s
10 Marcos Ramirez SPA OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 15m 9.110s
11 Taiga Hada JPN Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 15m 9.263s
12 Rory Skinner GBR OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 15m 14.974s
13 Manuel Gonzalez SPA Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 15m 17.292s
14 Albert Arenas SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 15m 17.379s
15 Ai Ogura JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 15m 18.900s
16 Kohta Nozane JPN Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 15m 29.599s
17 Dennis Foggia ITA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 15m 38.590s
18 Alberto Surra ITA Forward Team (Forward) 15m 42.647s
19 Alex Escrig SPA Forward Team (Forward) 15m 42.945s
20 Lukas Tulovic GER Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) 16m 3.249s
  Alonso Lopez SPA Beta Tools SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) DNF
  Celestino Vietti ITA Fantic Racing (Kalex) DNF
  Mattia Casadei ITA Fantic Racing (Kalex) DNF
  Jake Dixon GBR Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) DNF
  Sam Lowes GBR Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) DNF
  Sergio Garcia SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) DNF
  Filip Salac CZE QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) DNF
  Barry Baltus BEL Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) DNF
  Zonta Vd Goorbergh NED Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) DNF
  Darryn Binder RSA Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) DNF



Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline