Moto2: Vietti Takes Second Pole of Season at Misano

Celestino Vietti took his first pole since the third round of the season followed by championship leader Pedro Acosta and Manuel Gonzalez. Acosta’s closest championship rival, Tony Arbolino, was only able to qualify in ninth place and will need to make up places in the race tomorrow to close the championship gap.

Arbolino had to go through the first round of qualifying once again after his combined practice time was not fast enough for him to be automatically placed into the second session. Bo Bendsneyder finished the first qualifying session in first place, a position he held after the first set of flying laps.

Gonzalez also went through the first qualifying session and finished just behind Arbolino in third. The final rider to go through was Zonta van der Goorbergh.

The second qualifying session got underway without any issues and following the first flying laps Gonzalez was at the top of the timesheet followed by Vietti and Mattia Pasini.  Jake Dixon and Acosta only ran installation laps in the first half of the session, meaning that they did not have a representative lap time and they sat towards the bottom of the times.

Ai Ogura had been quick all throughout the weekend and all eyes had been on the Japanese rider. Midway through the session, he sat at tenth on the timesheet.

Sam Lowes set a good time to bring himself up to fourth place but was dropped down the order when Acosta put in the fastest time of the session, 0.133 seconds faster than Gonzaez.

Joe Roberts also dropped Lowes down the leaderboard when he went into fourth place.

After setting a fast time at the start of the session, Pasini crashed causing yellow flags in the second sector. This meant that many laps were cancelled including a fast time for Acosta. Dixon also had a lap time deleted, but this was due to a track limits warning.

On the following lap, Alonso Lopez crashed causing another yellow flag, this time in sectors two and three. This meant that Dixon and Vietti, amongst other riders, had their times deleted. Acosta did improve on his lap time, but this was also deleted due to the yellow flag.

As the chequered flag flew, Aron Canet came across the line to put his bike into fourth place. He was visibly pleased with the lap time and will be starting the race at the head of the second row.

Vietti came across the line and went to the top of the timesheet by 8 hundredths of a second ahead of Acosta. The Spaniard was on course to set a fast lap time but encountered traffic during his final lap and was unable to improve on his time. Gonzalez joins Vietti and Acosta on the front row.

After crashing earlier in the session, Pasini and Lopez join Canet on the second row. Roberts heads up the third row with Sam Lowes and Arbolino. Filip Salac rounds out the top ten.

Dixon crashed towards the end of the session and was only able to set a time fast enough to qualify in fourteenth place.

Feature Image Credit: Fantic Racing

1 Celestino Vietti ITA Fantic Racing (Kalex) 1m 36.201s
2 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 1m 36.281s
3 Manuel Gonzalez SPA Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 1m 36.421s
4 Aron Canet SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 1m 36.424s
5 Mattia Pasini ITA Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 1m 36.484s
6 Alonso Lopez SPA +Ego SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 1m 36.487s
7 Joe Roberts USA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 36.534s
8 Sam Lowes GBR Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 36.541s
9 Tony Arbolino ITA Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 36.559s
10 Filip Salac CZE QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 1m 36.639s
11 Somkiat Chantra THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 1m 36.649s
12 Zonta Vd Goorbergh NED Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 1m 36.722s
13 Ai Ogura JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 1m 36.816s
14 Jake Dixon GBR Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 1m 36.889s
15 Bo Bendsneyder NED Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 1m 36.919s
16 Marcos Ramirez SPA OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 1m 37.207s
17 Barry Baltus BEL Fieten Olie Rac (Kalex) 1m 37.215s
18 Jeremy Alcoba SPA QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 1m 37.245s
19 Izan Guevara SPA Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 1m 36.859s
20 Senna Agius AUS Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) 1m 36.967s
21 Fermín Aldeguer SPA +Ego SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 1m 36.992s
22 Sergio Garcia SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 1m 37.015s
23 Dennis Foggia ITA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 1m 37.051s
24 Alberto Surra ITA Forward Team (Forward) 1m 37.415s
25 Lukas Tulovic GER Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) 1m 37.621s
26 Rory Skinner GBR OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 1m 37.701s
27 Kohta Nozane JPN Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 1m 37.867s
28 Borja Gomez SPA Fantic Racing (Kalex) 1m 37.917s
29 Sean Dylan Kelly USA Forward Team (Forward) 1m 37.923s
30 Taiga Hada JPN Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 1m 38.126s



Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline