Moto2: Indian GP Pole Goes to Dixon

Jake Dixon took his second pole of the season at the inaugural Indian GP at the Buddh International Circuit on his final tour of the track. He is joined by championship leader Pedro Acosta and rookie Sergio Garcia on the front row.

Following a lengthy rain delay, the Moto2 qualifying got underway with a drying track. All eyes were on Aron Canet in the first round of qualifying as he was the highest-placed rider in the championship having to go through Q1. He struggled with the change in conditions.

All the riders went out to get an idea of the track conditions and slowly fast sectors began to be set.  Zonta van der Goorbergh was at the top of the timesheets with six minutes to go.

The Dutch rider crashed at turn one with four minutes left to go causing a yellow flag, meaning the riders behind him had their lap times deleted. He was able to end the session at the top, progressing through to Q2.

Darryn Binder, on his return from injury, was also riding well and was set to improve significantly but his lap time was deleted due to exceeding track limits. He did make it through to the second qualifying session, finishing Q1 in fourth place.

Barry Baltus and Garcia were the other riders who progressed from Q1 to Q2.

As soon as the pit lane opened for Q2, all the riders headed out and it was obvious who had already been out on the track with the riders that came through from Q1 setting the pace early on. The track was still not dry enough for slick tyres, so the riders all went out on wet tyres as there are no intermediate tyres in Moto2.

After the first runs, Garcia was fastest from Tony Arbolino and van der Goorbergh. Arbolino had used van der Goorbergh as a marker which allowed him to follow the Dutchman’s line. But it wouldn’t stay that way for long as Binder made his way to first on the timesheet.

The South African rider was only top momentarily as he was replaced by Acosta, who was replaced by Dixon as a flurry of riders improved their fastest lap times. Before the final runs, it was Garcia who was fastest in Q2.

With the chequered flag out, the times continued to fall. Acosta took the pole position briefly, and all eyes were on Dixon as he completed the final few corners. Dixon was able to go slightly quicker than Acosta taking his second pole position of the season.

The second row is populated by van der Goorbergh, Binder and Alonso Lopez. Championship contender Arbolino heads up the third row, joined by Joe Roberts and Somkiat Chantra. Celestino Vietti rounds out the top ten.

Feature Image Credit: Aspar Team (@AsparTeam) on X (formerly Twitter)

1 Jake Dixon GBR Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 2m 1.924s
2 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 2m 1.956s
3 Sergio Garcia SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 2m 2.192s
4 Zonta Vd Goorbergh NED Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 2m 2.271s
5 Darryn Binder RSA Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) 2m 2.602s
6 Alonso Lopez SPA GT Trevisan SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 2m 2.864s
7 Tony Arbolino ITA Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 2m 2.958s
8 Joe Roberts USA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 2m 3.262s
9 Somkiat Chantra THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 2m 3.370s
10 Celestino Vietti ITA Fantic Racing (Kalex) 2m 3.374s
11 Marcos Ramirez SPA OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 2m 3.446s
12 Sam Lowes GBR Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 2m 3.536s
13 Barry Baltus BEL Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 2m 3.706s
14 Jeremy Alcoba SPA QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 2m 4.208s
15 Ai Ogura JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 2m 4.751s
16 Manuel Gonzalez SPA Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 2m 4.871s
17 Filip Salac CZE QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 2m 5.123s
18 Dennis Foggia ITA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 2m 5.352s
19 Taiga Hada JPN Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 2m 3.263s
20 Aron Canet SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 2m 3.322s
21 Fermín Aldeguer SPA GT Trevisan SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 2m 3.501s
22 Rory Skinner GBR OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 2m 3.814s
23 Bo Bendsneyder NED Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 2m 4.312s
24 Kohta Nozane JPN Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 2m 4.494s
25 Sean Dylan Kelly USA Forward Team (Forward) 2m 4.727s
26 Izan Guevara SPA Inde GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 2m 5.015s
27 Borja Gomez SPA Fantic Racing (Kalex) 2m 5.015s
28 Alberto Surra ITA Forward Team (Forward) 2m 5.419s
29 Albert Arenas SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 2m 5.562s
Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline