Moto2: Acosta Controls German GP to Take Win

Pedro Acosta stormed to victory after a poor start and had to pass Tony Arbolino for the lead on lap one into the Sachsencurve. Arbolino was able to hold off a late charge from Jake Dixon for second place.

Off the line, Aron Canet did not get a good start and dropped down a place behind Alonso Lopez. Arbolino got a brilliant start and was able to take the lead into turn one, ahead of Acosta. Further down in the pack, Darryn Binder and Bo Bendsneyder were taken out by Jeremy Alcoba, who received a long lap penalty for this incident.

Arbolino was able to hold onto the lead until turn 12, where Acosta snuck past the Italian rider to take the lead.

Dixon made a mistake on lap two, allowing Lopez and Canet to get past, dropping him to fifth place on the road.

By the third lap, Acosta and Arbolino were beginning to break away from the rest of the pack, pulling the gap out to one second. Sam Lowes made a mistake dropping him down to ninth place.

After dropping down earlier in the race, Dixon was able to get back past Lopez into turn one, restoring his place towards the front of the field.

Lukas Tulovic was unfortunate to receive a track limits warning on lap 5 but he crashed at the penultimate corner on the next lap, causing a yellow flag in sector four. He was taken to the medical centre following this incident.

Acosta began to increase the gap to Arbolino behind him, which was 1 second at the end of six and the Italian continued to stay ahead of Canet. One lap later, Canet crashed at the final corner causing another yellow flag in the final sector.

Celestino Vietti made a place up on Manuel Gonzales and Somkiat Chantra tried to overtake Lopez but was unsuccessful on lap 8. However, on the next lap Chantra was able to get past on the start finish straight, taking fourth place away from the Spaniard.

Another crasher at the final corner was Izan Guevara, causing another yellow flag.

Acosta continued to increase the gap to Arbolino to 2.5 seconds and continued to lead the race at the front. Gonzalez was able to get past Vietti at the Sachencurve and then Lowes was also able to get past.

Dixon started to close the gap down to Arbolino on lap 14 by setting lap times comparable with the race leader, Acosta. By lap 16, Dixon was only 0.6 seconds behind the Italian. The rider behind Dixon was Chantra who was over 3 seconds behind, so the Brit did not need to worry about being caught from behind.

Fermin Aldeguer and Vietti were able to get past Albert Arenas who made a mistake. On the same lap, Joe Roberts also made a mistake and crashed at turn 16.

Arbolino continued to open out the gap to Dixon for a few laps but the Polar Cube GASGAS Aspar Team rider was able to find fast times once again and by lap 23, he was incredibly close to Arbolino and attempted to get past.

Acosta could not afford to make any mistakes on the final few laps, especially as the riders behind him were battling it out. He continued to make his way around the circuit without any incident and was able to come across the line with a three second gap to take his fourth win of the season and close up Arbolino’s lead in the championship.

Dixon and Acosta continued to battle during the final laps of the race but Arbolino was able to make his bike the widest on the track and was able to hold onto second place.

Chantra had his best finish of the season in fourth place. Lopez, Gonzales, Lowes, Aldeguer, Arenas and Vietti completed the top ten. Filip Salac was only able to finish in thirteenth place, adding a handful of points to his tally.

Lorenzo Dalla Porta had to retire his bike early in the race.

Feature Image Credit: MotoGP

1 Pedro Acosta SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 35m 15.315s
2 Tony Arbolino ITA Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 35m 18.045s
3 Jake Dixon GBR Polar Cube GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) 35m 18.140s
4 Somkiat Chantra THA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 35m 24.328s
5 Alonso Lopez SPA MB Conveyors SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 35m 27.589s
6 Manuel Gonzalez SPA Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 35m 28.855s
7 Sam Lowes GBR Elf Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 35m 29.772s
8 Fermín Aldeguer SPA MB Conveyors SpeedUp (Boscoscuro) 35m 30.368s
9 Albert Arenas SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (Kalex) 35m 30.534s
10 Celestino Vietti ITA Fantic Racing (Kalex) 35m 30.712s
11 Sergio Garcia SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) 35m 37.519s
12 Barry Baltus BEL Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 35m 38.793s
13 Filip Salac CZE QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 35m 38.901s
14 Ai Ogura JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia (Kalex) 35m 39.194s
15 Dennis Foggia ITA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 35m 40.262s
16 Jeremy Alcoba SPA QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2 (Kalex) 35m 43.763s
17 Sean Dylan Kelly USA OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 35m 47.889s
18 Zonta Vd Goorbergh NED Fieten Olie Racing GP (Kalex) 35m 50.556s
19 Carlos Tatay SPA OnlyFans American Racing (Kalex) 35m 51.945s
20 Marcos Ramirez SPA Forward Team (Forward) 36m 4.105s
21 Taiga Hada JPN Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) 36m 27.081s
22 Kasma Daniel MAL Correos Prepago Yamaha VR46 (Kalex) 36m 38.746s
Joe Roberts USA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) DNF
Lorenzo Dalla Porta ITA Forward Team (Forward) DNF
Izan Guevara SPA Polar Cube GASGAS Aspar Team (Kalex) DNF
Aron Canet SPA Pons Wegow Los40 (Kalex) DNF
Lukas Tulovic GER Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) DNF
Bo Bendsneyder NED Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team (Kalex) DNF
Darryn Binder RSA Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP (Kalex) DNF
Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline