Welcome to the 2017 PitCrew Motorsport Personality Of The Year Awards

Throughout 2017 there have been stories aplenty. Whether it be the old guard proving that they still have it, or a new generation suggesting they might upset the apple cart, it’s certainly been memorable. Here are eight men that excelled and enthralled in their respective fields, with a poll at the bottom so you can pick your favourite.


Jason Doyle: 
After heartbreak in 2016 when the affable Australian looked set to win his first Speedway World Championship before injury robbed him, Doyle simply picked himself up and carried on in 2017. A battle with rookie Patryk Dudek went to the final round in Melbourne, where the 32-year-old took what he felt what was rightfully his.

Jason Doyle became Speedway World Champion in 2017: Image courtest of www.Speedwaygp.com
Lucas Di Grassi:

2016/2017 FIA Formula E Championship.
Lucas Di Grassi (BRA), ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, Spark-Abt Sportsline, ABT Schaeffler FE02.
Photo: Zak Mauger/LAT/Formula E
ref: Digital Image _56I7110
The Brazilian’s Formula E victory in the 2016/17 season came against all odds. After Sebasiten Buemi and Renault e.dams’ sensational start it looked a forgone conclusion, but other commitments for Buemi and a sudden loss of form while Di Grassi remained consistent meant the Brazilian stole the championship from the Swiss.
Charles Leclerc:
The new kid on the block in Formula One for 2018, Leclerc has earned a drive at Sauber after dominating Formula 2. At 20, Monaco’s finest looks set to have a long career ahead of him at the pinnacle of motorsport.

Charles Leclerc (MCO, PREMA Racing)
Photo: Zak Mauger/FIA Formula 2.
ref: Digital Image _J6I1710
Lewis Hamilton:

Mercedes content pool.
Lewis Hamilton is now a certified great after a fourth championship.
There is little to say about Lewis Hamilton that has not already been said. The Briton has not only won his fourth title after a titanic battle with Sebastian Vettel and moved into an elite club of just five to have won more than three World Championships, but also broke the great Michael Schumacher’s pole position record and with 62 is now the closest man to the German’s record of 91.
Marc Marquez:
In the past, Marc Marquez has won his MotoGP titles with varying degrees of difficulty. This year was one of his biggest challenges as Andrea Dovizioso led a rejuvenated Ducati challenged. Eventually the mercurial Spaniard won his fourth World Championship at the final round in Valencia.

MotoGP: Marc Marquez has won four of the five MotoGP Championships he has contested
Sebastien Ogier:

Sébastien Ogier (F), Julien Ingrassia (F)
Volkswagen Polo R WRC (2016)
WRC Rally Australia 2016
Photo: Helena El Mokni
Ogier continued his dominance in the World Rally Championship over the last five years with another title in his M-Sport Ford Fiesta. Two wins and nine podiums meant that he beat nearest rival Thierry Neuvile of Belgium by 24 points
 Jonny Rea:
It’s been a record-breaking year in the World Superbike series for the man from Northern Ireland. A third straight Championship win would have been enough to see his name on the list, but in doing so he scored 556 points to break a 15-year-old points record that had previously been held by Colin Edwards with 552.
 Ash Sutton:
Ashley Sutton (GBR) Team BMR Subaru Levorg, leading at Oulton Park.

A Baby-faced Assassin in the British Touring Car Championship, Sutton had given fair warning to his rivals of what could happen given the chance during his debut season in 2016 with victory at Croft. Six further wins in 2017 saw the man from Kent dethrone reigning back-to-back champion Gordon Shedden in style in the final round at Brands Hatch.

This poll is no longer accepting votes

Who is your 2017 Motorsport Personality of the year?
Share the passion
©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline