Moto3: Arbolino on Pole at Home

Mugello means two things for Moto3 qualifying: slipstream; and the desperation of riders trying to find a slipstream. It was no different for the qualifying session for the 2019 Italian Moto3 Grand Prix, round six of the season.

In Q1, lots of riders were riding slowly as they looked for a tow, but it was the riders who were lapping mostly on their own who advanced to Q2: Raul Fernandez (Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team); Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing); Darryn Binder (CIP Green Power) and Andrea Migno (Bester Capital Dubai).

There was slightly more normalcy in Q2, which saw Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) take pole position for his home Grand Prix by 0.673, one which he will no doubt be desperate to convert to a victory tomorrow afternoon. Gabriel Rodrigo (Kommerling Gresini Moto3) and Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) join Arbolino on the front row.

Despite a mostly difficult weekend for Andrea Migno, he was able to qualify fourth, with the Sic58 Squadra Corse duo of Tatsuki Suzuki and Niccolo Antonelli joining the #16 on row two, in fifth and sixth respectively.

Romano Fenati (VNE Snipers) will head up row three tomorrow, ahead of Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia) and Marcos Ramirez; while championship leader Aron Canet (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) completes the qualifying top ten, and will be joined on the fourth row by Alonso Lopez (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Jaume Masia (Bester Capital Dubai) to make it an all-Spanish affair on row four.

Dennis Foggia (Sky Racing Team VR46) qualified thirteenth for his home race, ahead of Darryn Binder and Raul Fernandez on row five; while Sergio Garcia (Estrella Galicia 0,0) heads up row six from Celestino Vietti (Sky Racing Team VR46) and Le Mans winner John McPhee (Petronas SRT).

Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas SRT) will start from the head of row seven, ahead of Jakub Kornfeil (Redox PruestelGP) and Kazuki Masaki (BOE Skull Rider Mugen Race). Row eight sees Albert Arenas (Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team) in front of Makar Yurchenko (CIP Green Power) and Can Oncu (Red Bull KTM Ajo).

Filip Salac 2019. Image courtesy of Gold and Goose/KTM

Wildcard Kevin Zannoni (RDR TM Official Team) heads up row nine from fellow wildcard Ryusei Yamanaka (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Ai Ogura’s replacement at Honda Team Asia, Gerry Salim. Vicente Perez (Reale Avintia Arizona 77) leads the tenth row, from Filip Salac (Redox PruestelGP) and Tom Booth-Amos (CIP Green Power); whilst Riccardo Rossi’s (Kommerling Gresini Moto3) only valid lap from the session was seven seconds off the pace, so will start last.


Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline