Formula One 2017 Guide Part 2, Meet the Grid


Every team has announced and confirmed their 2017 driver line-up. A list of each teams’ drives will follow below. The second part of the 2017 Formula One guide will meet you to the drivers of the upcoming season.



Lewis Hamilton

British Driver and three time world champion. Lewis won his first world title with McLaren in 2008 and the back to back titles with Mercedes in 2014 and 2015. Last season finished second in the championship and collected 380 points.

Valtteri Bottas

Bottas is the new member of Mercedes as he joined the silver arrows this season and will race alongside Lewis Hamilton. The Finn has nine finish podiums and in 2016 he finished 8th in the championship and scored 85 points.

Red Bull Racing

Daniel Ricciardo

Ricciardo raced for the first time in his career as Red Bull’s driver in 2014 as Webber’s replacement. In 2009 the Australian won the British Formula 3 Championship. Daniel has four wins in his Formula One career, 18 podiums and 616 career points. Last season, he finished 3rd behind Lewis Hamilton.

Max Verstappen

Max made his debut as a Formula 1 driver at the Australian Grand Prix in 2015 for Toro Rosso and became the youngest driver to compete in Formula 1. In 2016 he promoted by Red Bull and replaced Daniil Kvyat who demoted to Toro Rosso. The Dutch has one win and seven podiums as a Formula One driver.


Sebastian Vettel

Four times World champion with Red Bull, racing for Ferrari since 2015. Last season, the German finished fourth and scored 212 points. Sebastian celebrated his last victory with Ferrari in 2015 in Singapore.

Kimi Raikkonen

The Finn is among the most favourite drivers on the grid. In 2007, Kimi won his only championship with Ferrari. He finished 84 times on the podium in total and won 20 races. From 2009 to 2011 he joined the WRC series, but in 2012 he returned to Lotus and then joined Scuderia Ferrari.

Force India Mercedes

Esteban Ocon

Esteban made his debut in Formula 1 as a Manor’s driver in the 2016 Belgian Grand Prix. The French replaced Rio Haryanto. This season will race for Sahara Force India as Nico Hulkenberg moved to Renault.

Sergio Perez

Checo joined Formula 1 in 2011 with Sauber and three seasons later he signed a contract with Force India which he is still racing for. In 2016, the Mexican scored 101 points and finished 7th. He finished seven times on the podium, but he has not won a race yet.

Williams Mercedes

Felipe Massa

The Brazilian returned to F1 after a short break and decided to pause his retirement for one more season. Felipe, is racing for Williams since 2014, and the team asked him to return to F1 in order to allow Bottas to sign a contract with Mercedes. Massa has scored 1124 points in his career and won 11 grand prix.

Lance Stroll

Lance will become the second youngest driver ever to start a Formula One race. In 2016 the Canadian won the European Formula 3 championship and Williams trusted his abilities and hired him as Massa’s team-mate.

McLaren Honda

Fernando Alonso

Two time world champion with Renault, Fernando enjoys his moments in Formula 1 and he believes in McLaren-Honda partnership. The last race which, the Spaniard won was in 2013 in Spain, last season he scored 54 points and finished 10th in the championship.

Stoffel Vandoorne

The Belgian will race for McLaren once again and he will replace Jenson Button. Stoffel has already scored a point in Formula 1 in 2016 in Bahrain. He finished 10th, behind Valtteri Bottas. Last season he was raced in Super Formula and in 2015 he won the GP2 series.

Toro Rosso

Carlos Sainz Jr

Carlos joined Toro Rosso in 2015, he was Verstappen’s team-mate at that season. The Spanish finished 12th in 2016 and collected 46 points, in his career as an F1 driver, Sainz has scored 64 points in total.

Daniil Kvyat

Kvyat was signed by Toro Rosso as Ricciardo’s replacement, but in 2015 he was promoted to Red Bull as Vettel moved to Ferrari. The Russian finished for the first time in his career on the podium in Hungary in 2015. On 5 May 2016 was demoted back to Toro Rosso as Max Verstappen promoted and became Ricciardo’s new team-mate.

Haas Ferrari

Romain Grosjean

Grosjean made his Formula 1 debut at the 2009 European Grand Prix with Renault, but at the end of the season he was replaced by Vitaly Petrov. Lotus offered him a seat and the French returned in Formula One in 2012 and remained in Lotus for three consecutive seasons. Last season he was driving for the American Haas. He finished sixth at the season premiere in Australia, these were Haas first points as a F1 team.

Kevin Magnussen

Magnussen raced for McLaren in 2014, he replaced Sergio Perez, but in 2015 he was released from McLaren. In 2016, he returned to Formula One for Renault and this season he will replace Esteban Gutierrez in Haas. The Danish finished 16th last season and scored 7 points.


Nico Hulkenberg

The German will be racing for Reunalt this season, as he decided to leave from Sahara Force India after a positive season. The 2015 24 Hours of Le Mans winner, finished 9th in 2016 and contributed to Force India’s fourth place in the Constructors’ championship.

Jolyon Palmer

Jolyon Palmer was promoted as a full race driver on 23 October 2015 for the Renault team. In 2016 the British scored one point and finished 18th in the drivers’ championship.

Sauber Ferrari

Marcus Ericsson

In 2014, Ericsson joined the Formula 1 as Caterham’s driver and he was Kobayashi’s team-mate. The following season, Marcus signed a contract with Sauber which he is still driving for.

Pascal Wehrlein

In February 2016, Wehrlein made his debut as a Formula 1 driver with Manor racing. Pascal, scored his first point in Formula One at the Austrian Grand Prix, it was Manor’s first point in the championship as well. Despite the rumours that he might join Mercedes and replace Rosberg, the German signed a deal with Sauber and he will be racing for the Swiss team this season.

Don’t miss the third and last part of the guide which will be published next week. The third part will introduce you the 2017 calendar and we will make a quick lap on each circuit.

Victor Archakis

Twitter: @FP_Passion

(Image Courtesy of Pirelli F1 Media)

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline