Scheider Signs To Race WRX

Timo Scheider has signed with MJP Racing Team Austria for 2017 FIA World Rallycross.

MJP Racing Team Austria (former World RX Team Austria) announced today that it has signed a multiple year contract with two time DTM Champion Timo Scheider to compete in the FIA World Rallycross Championship.

Timo Scheider, who has also won the 24 Hours on the Nürnburgring commented:

“I am very excited to join MJP Racing Team Austria and to be able to compete the full 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship. We had been talking since some time but now we realized a great partnership. Rallycross encompasses for me the great passion of motorsport. The level of the Championship goes up in 2017 with more manufacturers entering, but MJP Racing has built a new car for 2017 that will be a serious contender. They not only have great dedication but also employ a high-tech approach to designing and building racecars that is unique. We found ourselves to be very compatible as partners. I look forward to a fantastic Rallycross season.”

Team owner Max J. Pucher had this to say:

“In 2016 our team has achieved great results, including three new track records in World RX. We reached the semi-finals regularly and the fact that we placed 3rd and 4th in the Barcelona final showed how competitive both the team and the cars are. As our infrastructure and capability has grown substantially during the past 9 months we were able to realize our plan for a more competitive car for 2017. Having Timo Scheider with us in the team is just fantastic and makes all of us in the team really proud. The fact that Timo lives in Austria since 17 years old and also races under an Austrian licence achieves our goals to bring an “Austrian” driver to World RX. I do look very much forward to the 2017 season with him. “

Negotiations to fill the second team seat for MJP Racing Team Austria are still ongoing.

Photo credits: MJP Racing Team Austria

Neil Simmons

Twitter: @world_racing

Share the passion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

©2014-2024 ThePitCrewOnline